I have been playing for three years, I have always hold the pick with the point facing up, between the front partof my thumb and my index finger, I have always noticed almost all guitarist hold the pick this way:

which is very different, the point of the pick is facing down and the pick is beetwen the front of the thumb an the lateral part of the index finger.

my picking speed have not improved in the last year, I think one of the reasons could be my technique, yesterday I have began to try picking the way that pictures shows, and it was really awkward and my picking speed was something like 50%, today I keep practicing, and now is something like and 80%.

but it feels really awkward, so much that it kills a lot of the joy that I have when I play.

so I wanna know, my other picking technique could be the reason of my not improving speed? honestly since I change is awkward, but the transition between strings when picking feels more "fluid", I should continue until I get used to this?

some exercises you recommend?
Quote by Våd Hamster
Fuck yes you are the best poster ever

do you wanna hear a little piano composition I have just made?, I promise it don't totally sucks, you can hear it on my profile, any feedback would be really appreciated -C4C
Quote by tappooh
can you post a picture of how you used to hold it?

well I don't have a camera right now, I will try with my web cam but it have really low resolution, I'll be posting one in some minutes.

EDIT:

hope this helps, thank you
Quote by Våd Hamster

do you wanna hear a little piano composition I have just made?, I promise it don't totally sucks, you can hear it on my profile, any feedback would be really appreciated -C4C
Last edited by andras67 at Jul 6, 2011,
as i expected...

its not bad, as long as you get a good angle on the strings you can pick just as fast. i know some shredders use to hold it that way and can play very fast.