i am a guitarist who wants to start playing bass because i've been told and i realised that it suits my playing style and talent better
my friend told me i should start out on a 5 string because i'm a big fan of downtuned/extended range metal (i.e. korn, mnemic, fear factory, deftones, suicide silence, whitechapel, machine head. etc)

i just wanted to ask, does it matter if i start out on a 5 or 4 string?
In a word. Nope.

5 and 6 string do have their challenges but then switching from guitar to bass does as well. A 5 or 6 string gives you efficiency of movement.
It doesn't matter what you start on when it comes to learning. But considering your musical preferences, go for the 5-string. I think that if you'd buy a 4-string now, you'd want to buy a 5-string later so why not go for that from the start? With a 4-string you'll have to tune so low that it'll just be one big mess in terms of sound as well as playability.
I'M A COWBOY
If you were just starting bass without being a guitarist already then I'd say go for a 4 string, but since I doubt you'll be going through beginner sort of lessons that assume you only have 4 I don't suppose it will matter
With the 5 string you wont have to tune down to play along with anything higher than b standard, big advantage.
playing a 5 and playing a 4 are the exact same. the nek might be a litle thicker, but thats not really an issue for most people. the techniques are all the same, everything is the same.
no sir away a papaya war is on
I started on 5string and the only difference i see between and other bassists i meet is that i highly prefer the feel of a 5string. go for it!
dean edge one 5 string
Schecter studio-4
Samick fairlane-6
Ibanez sb900
Ibanez btb775
Fender p bass special deluxe

Dean Del Sol
Ibanez prestige rg2610

Peavey TKO 65
Peavey vb-2
Quote by the_perdestrian
listen to revelation, for he is wise in the way of bass-fu
It makes no difference learning on a 5er than a 4er.