I suffer from very acute depression and a myriad of other mental health problems and I'm wondering if any fellow guitarists can relate/offer support or suggestions.
It can be very hard for me to do what most people don't think twice about, simple tasks such as getting out of bed, eating etc...
Playing guitar at times can be a nightmare, and progress is at best tedious. I've been playing on and off for about 3 years and sometimes I am unable to play for weeks, months even because of my various issues.
I know many wonderful guitarists battled serious health issues, both physical and mental, and played their instruments to the best of their ability.
I'm not here trying to get sympathy, rather to see if anyone can relate and possibly offer any advice, preferably related to playing the guitar.
I'd appreciate it if no one replied telling me to take my pills or things of that nature.....
I think you should focus on getting cured first, and then dedicating yourself to guitar. If you wanna do something, you gotta do it properly.
We'd love to help you, but none of us are doctors. I'd say play when you can, but perhaps it's best to get advice from a pro who knows a little more than we.
Quote by genghisgandhi
So you mean you're not too sad? You're just like most other people on the planet.

This.

My nan suffers from very acute depression and she looks like she's constantly on crack.
dirtbag ballet by the bins down the alley
as i walk through the chalet of the shadow of death
everything that you've come to expect

I was depressed for a few years.. then I got over it and became a cynical git.

My answer is to become a cynical git. It's like depression, but you feel self righteous for being so.
There's a good chance that what I've written above is useless and if you take any of the advice it's your own fault.
Last edited by Silent Murder at Jul 6, 2011,
Quote by genghisgandhi
So you mean you're not too sad? You're just like most other people on the planet.

Acute means severe.