Hello, I'm working on an album right now, and up until this point, I've always recorded with a microphone connected to my PC. From their i layered the sounds and mixed them and so forth. But my mic broke, (rolled over it in my chair... ) and I want to try plugging into my PC directly. Does anyone know how to do this? Is it even possible for PC's to sound like a guitar amp? I have seen guitar/usb cables on the internet from anywhere to $15-$120. Why is there such a price disparity? I'm totally new to plugging into a computer for recording, if anyone has any experience or suggestions, I would greatly appreciate it.
It'll sound like absolute crap if you try to record direct into your mic or line-in jack. You need an audio interface.
^^ this...
Quote by arsonite
I flash my ridiculously white teeth at you in contempt Sir!

Quote by son_of_bodom

OT: variety is the spice of life, my genitals don't discriminate on the basis of religion.
Not to mention the Analog to Digital Converter (ADC) circuit for most integrated sound cards are not meant for high quality recording. They are just there to be there. Spend at least $100 on an interface and make something you can be proud of.

"Just because it's there doesn't mean it'll work."
From my experience don't do that unless you have to...
It would be very glamorous to be reincarnated as a great big ring on Liz Taylor's finger?!

Dear Noah,
We could have sworn you said the ark wasn't leaving till 5.
Sincerely, Unicorns --> I wonder....
Get a Line 6 Toneport. You should be able to get by with just a UX1 - it comes with software that is like amp and effects simulators. I think the UX1 is like 100$ and very well worth it.
I have a UX2 too, and my god, one of the best investments you can make, they have forums for user made presets., if you can invest in a few of the packs for amps, that helps too, I don't have them but I can get decent tones.
Poop.

Yes, poop.