So i know what a polyrythm is and how it works etc... I have no problem playing a melody that is polyrytmic to what another instrument is playing. My problem is that i just cant play polyrythms, where i am the only one playing. I tried to do a simple 2:3 (my left hand tapping a note in groups of 2, my right in groups of 3, where they meet at the start of each bar). I tried playing this to a polyrytmic metronome on my iphone. I can switch between the two beats fast, but i just cant sync them up how did you guys who can do this, learn it? When i focus on one hand, i loose the control of the other. My instrument is guitar by the way.
I have trouble getting the first note of the phrase to land exactly on the beat. Just posting something so can keep better track of this thread. I have polyrhythm trouble too.
I don't think you'll be the only one with this problem As a drummer I can play that fairly easy. I guess you're a man, and men have more trouble doing different things at once It's not that big a deal I think if you cannot play that 2:3. Though it's fun when you finally can play it

The way I learned to play it: play the triplets with your right hand a long time (with an accent on the beat) 'till you can play the rhythm without even thinking about it. Then take out your left hand and get ready. Only mind the accents of your right hand (so just the beats) and begin playing the 8ths according to those accents. In case of failure start over again or switch hands or start with the 8ths or read further.

OR: draw 2 identical rectangles under each other. Divide one in 2 and the other in 3. Assign the upper or lower to your right and the other to your left hand. Go very slow from left to right and tap when you see line with the correct hand. Study the rhythm you get and try to speed up.

Good luck!
(if you got al that try 3:4, a LOT harder)
lalala