So the time has come to clean my fretboard for the first time. My guitar has a rosewood fretboard with abalone inlays, is there any type of chemical/substance I should steer clear of? And can anyone recommend me anything to use?

Cheers
What about Dunlop 65 Ultimate Lemon Oil? Is that any good for rosewood? And how do I actually clean my fretboard? Sorry for all the questions but I've never done it before
Dunlop 65 all the way.... that stuff is awesome from the cleaner to the lemon oil for the frets.
I use lemon oil from D'Addario.
I apply it directly on the fretboard and scrub with the finest steel wool. Then I use a paper towel to take the excess off.
Just because I have some strong opinions doesn't mean I agree with everything I say.
I use lemon oil from dunlop, but don't forget, if you don't do it often then it will soak it up, just apply till it steps soaking it up
Running through:

Engl Fireball
Engl Slanted Cab
Ibanez Xiphos
Schecter C-1 FR Black
Ibanez GRG (on its way)

Pedals:
Boss Noise Gate, Zakk Wylde Overdrive, Boss Tuner, Zakk Wylde Wah.
Wow, so much wrong in this thread.

If this is the first time the fretboard has been cleaned and the guitar is a year or two old then get some proper cleaning products. Dunlop make a whole range of them at a reasonable price and they sell them in box sets with cleaning cloths and fret polishing cloths too so they're a really good way to go. They come with a dedicated cleaner and deep conditioner, use those one after the other. Lemon oil is not a cleaning product, it's a conditioning product. There's not much point using it after using a deep conditioner but it helps to put literally just a couple of drops on the board every year or so. Remember that over-cleaning and over-conditioning can hurt the wood more than not taking care of it at all.