Okay, so a few months ago, I got a Classic Player Jazzmaster. I finally broke the high E on it. So, I tried to change it, and in spite of the fact that I watched several videos on how to change strings on split-shaft tuners, and looking up numerous forum threads on it, I still can't get the damned thing to stay in. I thought I finally got it a few minutes ago, but then, POP, it's out again.

And what's really frustrating is the fact that everyone in the threads I looked at talks about them like they're the easiest tuners in the world!

I know I sound like a fucking noob, but I'm not, I've just never had a guitar with these vintage-style tuners before.

So, anyone have tips? I've tried several tips from various places, and it's not staying in. It's making me extremely frustrated, to the point that I just want to rip the things off and melt them down. Are there any drop-in replacements for vintage-style Fender tuners? Because really, I'm not willing to put up with this kind of frustration.
That's how every string should be strung, unfortunately so many people don't do it.
1966 Stella Harmony Acoustic
Epiphone Dot Studio
Fender Starcaster (Made by 5 year olds in China)
THE Epiphone Mandolin
Dean 7 String (Totally Korean)
Yamaha C45m
Mitchell 12 MD100S

More Strings=More Range=More BadAssery
It's not that kind of tuner. It's the vintage-style Fender kind, the kind with the split shafts and the hole on the top you put the string through. You're supposed to put the string into the hole on top, kink it, and then wind, but I can't get it to stay, and that method won't work on that kind of tuner, since you use a completely different method than the kind of tuners with the holes in the middle.

EDIT: This is what I'm talking about:

They're like bass tuners, only they're guitar tuners.
Last edited by Holy Katana at Jul 8, 2011,