I have been playing guitar for about 2 1/2 years. I am a huge fan of Progressive rock. I am a fan of Rush, Pink Floyd, Yes, Eric Johnson, etc. but I was wondering if anyone has any tips for a progressive rock guitarist, like techniques to learn and stuff. I also want to know what gear would be suitable for progressive rock. I basically want to get Alex Lifeson's tone.
Progressive music, by definition, is harder to put into a little box in terms of what to play. Sounds like you got your influences down, go ahead and study their music. As far as techniques, you have to be prepared for anything, sooooo...everything!

Lifeson uses a lot of pedal tones, moves between higher and lower voicings and plays with the bass note of his chords and arpeggios (usually slides it down by a step.) That's just a few things I've noticed about his style; keep studying the songs, you'll get it eventually!

As far as gear, a lot of prog guitarists like semi-hollows (I want one, too!) but I also hear Lifeson did 2112 with a Marshall/Les Paul combo... . If you want Lifeson's tone, go read some interviews, that's where you usually find them discussing their gear. He doesn't seem to like Fenders (he said a Tele was the worst guitar he's ever had.) Oh, and don't forget the classical guitar!
Nothing that is worthwhile in life will ever come easy.