Ok I've been playing guitar for a few years now and decided yesterday to purchase a bass and begin teaching myself. I just wanted to ask what some essential techniques are for playing bass. Any help?
First off, read the FAQ. There is a tonne of great info for beginning bassists in that thread esp. in the first few pages.

Secondly, don't approach your new instrument as a 4 string guitar. Its very different in approach from a musical and a playing standpoint. If you don't have one already, get a metronome and a good thick strap. The first will get your timing and rhythm consistent, the second with save your back and shoulders.
I unfortunately don't have any 'tips'. Just want to support you in your bass quest. I think it's really important for people to get a full understand behind any type of music.

"don't approach your new instrument as a 4 string guitar" is great advice.

The drummer views a song differently than the guitarist. The bassist views the same song differently than the drummer. It's like that with every instrument and every combination.

If you want to write a good full rock song, then seeing it from all of these angles will help you out tremendously. Not to mention that your chemistry with fellow band mates will instantly grow!

Best of luck to ya.
Yeah, uh-huh...that's what they all say.
Go slow at first and watch out for blisters.

Quote by emad
jthm_guitarist
Warned for trolling!

Quote by metal4eva_22
Didn't you say that you had a stuffed fox that you would occasionally fuck?

Quote by Axelfox
It's not a fox,it's a wolf.
learn to fret properly. of all things you can do, that is the most important. fretting wrong can injure you over a long enough time (years, but still).

the right hand two finger "walk" is a common starting point, and a good one, as it allows you to play most forms of music. if you want to add a third, that's fine and dandy, but avoid sticking with the one, as it can limit you.