Page 1 of 2
Alright I'm very new to this so don't flag me down. Alright I wrote a Riff and after examining it I figured out the notes in it where D A Db G E C B F#. I declared it was written in D Mixoloydian because of the flatted 7th step. But I realize it could be G Major as well. So my question is: is it In d Mixoloydian or g major. I no the difference between the two is the note they start on. Please help me
It depends where it resolves to. Are there chords in the song too? Does it feel like it ends on the D or the G?
And no, Guitar Hero will not help. Even on expert. Really.
Soundcloud
Well, you have both a flatted 7th and a major 7th here, so I'm not sure it really fits into any scale without calling some notes accidentals. But the easiest way (don't know if there's a more proper way to determine or not) is to see what note the riff "wants" to end on. I doubted it would want to end in G but when I play it (granted I don't know the timing or what octaves and what not you're playing everything in) it actually seems to want to end on G.

And, Alpacino, there is a G.
Good job TS, you've gathered all of the music theory propellerheads in one location to duke it out
Gig Rig:

Schecter Hellraiser V-1
Crate BV120H
B-52 LS 4x12 cabinet
BBE Rackmount Sonic Max
Boss ME-50 Pedalboard
Digital Reference 2505 Wireless

I don't like BTBAM. Sue Me.

PLUR

My Solo Project
Quote by swordsofplague
Good job TS, you've gathered all of the music theory propellerheads in one location to duke it out

*sits and watches*
Alright well I looked it over an it actually sounds like it wants to end on an A I determined the Db must be an accidental and them there is a flatted 3rd and 7th making it in A Dorian does that sound right?
Quote by SilverSpurs616
*sits and watches*

Gig Rig:

Schecter Hellraiser V-1
Crate BV120H
B-52 LS 4x12 cabinet
BBE Rackmount Sonic Max
Boss ME-50 Pedalboard
Digital Reference 2505 Wireless

I don't like BTBAM. Sue Me.

PLUR

My Solo Project
Quote by SilverSpurs616