Well, I want to start recording, but I am not looking for a "professional" sound. I am new to this whole recording stuff. haha I heard Reaper is a good program to use to get started. I also heard I should use ezdrummer for reaper to make my own drum beats. Should I start with those? Or are there better options? And also, how would I be able to record my guitar? Do I need something to plug my guitar into before I connect it to the computer? Or do I just buy like a mic jack and plug my guitar into that and connect it to the computer? And will the reaper program have like different tones for the guitar? Sorry for all the questions. But thanks to those who help me.
Reaper and EZDrummer are good, especially for just starting. With guitar your going to need an interface, I recommend the M-Audio Fast Track its probably the cheapest you can find ($100) and it does the job. As for effects you can check out this thread which will teach you how to get a decent sounding tone for free. But I would recommend spending a few extra bucks on Guitar Rig.

Also you are going to need bass and if you don't have a bass guitar you might want to search around. For my bass, I use a vst that came with FL studios called BooBass. Just search around and you might be able to find some bass samples you can use.

Another thing that is nice to have is some headphones. I use $60 skullcandy headphones and they do the job. Without headphones it will be harder to mix because you won't be able to hear the bass very well and get the right levels.
I think it could depend largely on your writing process; how you decide to start off. -and you would want a basic recording interface, like the mbox series, which you can get in a kit that comes with everything you need. Just search for them on musiciansfriend, there are a few.

You basically want guitar->interface->guitar effects on computer->recording software.