Hey MT,

Does anyone know any basic things about music from these countries?

India
Bangladesh
Nigeria
Kenya
China
West Indies

The reason I ask is because we have a special day on Monday where some Y10 students help year 7s learn about world music. We aren't required to learn this but I want to know what I'm talking about.

Here's the little I know already [that my music teach taught]

India
- Dhol drums
- A fusion of traditional Indian music and western pop
- FX and multitracking.
- Dance music
- Chaal rhythm= crotchet then quaver [triplets]
- Became popular in 70s and 80s

African
- I don't think their music is written down either
- A lot of pentatonic
- A capello

Anything else?
I can't even point to the West Indies on a map!
Woffelz

Twitter
Youtube
Tumblr

Ibanez RG2550Z/SRX430
Alesis Core 1
BIAS FX

I'm a student. I've got no time or space for an amp!
A lot of music from Asia is based completely on the Pentatonic scales, such as China and Vietnam, and most likely other countries from that area as well. In fact, a lot of world music is based on the Pentatonic scales.
Quote by zincabopataurio
A lot of music from Asia is based completely on the Pentatonic scales, such as China and Vietnam, and most likely other countries from that area as well. In fact, a lot of world music is based on the Pentatonic scales.

Hahaha, good one dude!

Wait, you were being sarcastic right? Right?
Quote by parathy_r
Hahaha, good one dude!

Pentatonic, as in 5 tone. There are multiple pentatonic scales, rather than just the "Normal" pentatonics you would hear for Blues/Rock.

That being said, they still have their similarities in sound if you listen.

Don't forget about the sitar for Indian music! Sitars are amazing.
Quote by zincabopataurio