Ok, so, first time actually using a head and speaker cab in a while since I've been practicing with my combo for about 6 months now, but, how would I hook up my Krank Krankenstein head out into a Mesa 4x12 and a Krankenstein 4x12 as far as the OHM rating goes?

Thanks for the help, I feel like an idiot for not remembering haha
Quote by sdmf5150
Ok, so, first time actually using a head and speaker cab in a while since I've been practicing with my combo for about 6 months now, but, how would I hook up my Krank Krankenstein head out into a Mesa 4x12 and a Krankenstein 4x12 as far as the OHM rating goes?

Thanks for the help, I feel like an idiot for not remembering haha

Its always best to match impedance. So 4 ohm out -> 4 ohm input, 8 ohm out -> 8 ohm input, 16 ohm out -> 16 ohm input.

There's debate about mismatching impedance. Some people will tell you that you can safely match an amp to a load that is twice the impedance of the head's output - they call this a "safe mismatch". Other's will say that you can't because of factors such as arcing and something called flyback voltage or something like that.

I've talked to people who have been modding and building amps for 30 and 40 years (Dan Boul, president of 65 amps is one of them) and have been told that mismatching with both higher and lower loads than the heads output is perfectly safe, it just decrease the life of the tubes and the OT.

Best bet is to always match impedance - just keep that in mind.
Alright, thanks a lot for that reply. Now, would it be best to run in parallell or series? And then if so how should I do the impendance, that's where my real question comes in.
Quote by sdmf5150
Alright, thanks a lot for that reply. Now, would it be best to run in parallell or series? And then if so how should I do the impendance, that's where my real question comes in.