Hey everybody, this is my first post and i desperately need a bit of help with my problem. I have been playing for about 7 years now and I have a Jackson RR3, for those of you who aren't familiar with it ill tell you a bit about it. It has a floyd rose floating bridge and of course locks at the nut as well and a 22 fret neck. I used to have it on standard tuning so i just restring it and tune it, but a few years ago i decided to tune a bit lower so i went to dropped c. I use regular d'addario strings even on this lower tuning. So when i tuned lower i knew i had to adjust the springs in the back and to my surprise it was pretty simple and worked out fine. A friend of mine wanted to trade me its neck for another jackson neck, this one has 24 frets and no locks on the nuts and im pretty sure it came from a soloist but im not sure, the headstock has 3 to a side tuning machines. I put strings on it and started tuning, but then i noticed something strange, the octaves werent matching up yet the fifth fret was the same as the open on the lower string. What is the problem and is their anything i can do to fix it, i really like how the neck looks on my guitar but im not going to sacrifice aesthetics for playability. Thanks in advance to anyone who helps. Im not much on guitar building but i have read many threads and see that their are alot of people with experience here.
Welcome to UG.
Its an intonation problem. Look it up on youtube, theres thousands of tutorials.

Oh, and you just Effed youself hard getting a neck with no locking nut on a guitar with a FR. Have fun.
Where's Waldo?
Quote by Explorerbuilder
you cant add a 24 fret neck to a body made for 22 frets... that threw off your scale length. jackson necks are 25.5" scale.

Totally skipped over the part where he said that =p.
Where's Waldo?
swap your neck back.

for many reasons.

1. the serials will be different so resale will be a bitch explaining why you changed it