Geez, haven't been on UG in forever...

So I've been playing for roughly 3 years, but I never really sat down and just practiced for a month straight. By practice I mean theory and proper technique over "Let's just play parts of songs I know." It's a laziness issue which I must overcome, but I digress. I even purposefully took the past 3 months off from playing in the hopes of re-teaching myself properly.

Anyway, I've always picked parallel to the strings. That is to say, take your pick and lie it flat against the string. That's how I've been playing. What are the downsides to this and is tilting your pick absolutely essential? I feel as if I should tilt my pick albeit not at the 45 degrees which I keep seeing. If I were to tilt my pick I would have the "front" of the pick facing downward instead of up (right-handed, by the way).

Last, but certainly not least, is the issue of strumming versus picking individual notes. For strumming would it be OK to continue as I've been doing and just tilt my pick whilst picking individual notes or should I tilt it all the time?

Kind of getting back into the swing of things so thanks for putting up with another newbie's questions, all.
Heisenberg might have been here

I wouldn't be caught dead with a necrophiliac

I don't clean my room because I'm saving entropy the effort

Drugs may lead to nowhere, but at least it's the scenic route
i've seen lessons and such that say to pick with an angle because they say it's easier for the pick to go through the string, but my regular picking has always been as "parallel" as i could manage. i just always thought the excessive pick attack was annoying when used on every note.
Quote by archerygenious
Jesus Christ since when is the Pit a ****ing courtroom...

Like melodic, black, death, symphonic, and/or avant-garde metal? Want to collaborate? Message me!