I am in the market for studio monitors for recording, tracking, and mixing rock/metal.
Right now I am using some crappy Logitech X-530 speakers, and would like to upgrade. My budget is $500-600 for a pair. I am a total newbie when it comes to studio monitors, so I am pretty much buying blindly. I am debating whether to get the KRK Rokit RP8G2, KRK VXT 4, or an M-Audio DSM-3. I've also heard very good things about the Adam A7x, but its way out of my price range.

Now, about the DSM-3, yes I know its M-Audio and they get a pretty bad rap on their monitors. The only thing that made me consider buying it is I can get them at a very good price, $465ish for a pair, when normally they sell for $800 EACH, and $1600 for a PAIR. I can barely find any reviews for them online, and for the reviews that i do find, its generally favorable. Has anyone have any experiences with M-Audio's DSM series?

Also, my room(basement) is untreated and it has tile floors. (Dunno if thats any helpful but i thought I'd just put it out there)

Suggestions for other monitors are welcome.
Thanks!
Last edited by raz1289 at Jul 11, 2011,
Quote by raz1289
I am in the market for studio monitors for recording, tracking, and mixing rock/metal.
Right now I am using some crappy Logitech X-530 speakers, and would like to upgrade. My budget is $500-600 for a pair. I am a total newbie when it comes to studio monitors, so I am pretty much buying blindly. I am debating whether to get the KRK Rokit RP8G2, KRK VXT 4, or an M-Audio DSM-3. I've also heard very good things about the Adam A7x, but its way out of my price range.