Hi everyone,

I haven't been playing very long (about 6 months) but i would like to write songs using my guitar after a few years. I have a question for those of you who either write songs or have written in the past- how long did it take for you (years) before you could write your own songs using guitar? What kind of music theory is important in order to write?

Keep in mind that i am mainly interested in hard rock (not metal, hard rock like Aerosmith/Zeppelin/Deep Purple) and some blues (SRV, etfc).
Chord progressions have a certain order that needs to be maintained in order for a song to flow properly. That is all known in theory. You also need to know what key you want to make your song and put chords in accordingly. Unless your a musical genius, theory is needed to write music or at least support what is being written. The time it takes to learn to write depends on each person, how hard they try, how talented they are, etc.
I've been playing for two years and I've finished writing 4 songs. The first is a soft rock song (Pink Floyd-ish). Two of them are piano pieces and the last is an instrumental. The first song took me about two days to write. It wasn't very good though. The piano pieces both took me about half a year I think. I'd been playing about a year and a half before I completed the first one. The second one I completed a few months ago. (been playing for two years and a half now). I've been working on the instrumental since some time in October I think and I'm not completely sure I'm finished with it yet.

I knew nothing about music theory when I started writing the first song and the first piano piece, except a few tiny things about scales and how 3/4 sounds and 4/4 sounds.
Quote by nojeremy