ok, well when i started playing guitar two years ago, i fking loved greenday, blink, offspring and that kinda sound, had a fender strat (my baby blue) and put in a s and d invader SH-8, the same one tom delongue uses, and plugged that in to my line 6 spider 120 watt bad black box with some noise supressing and wah pedals.
since then however my style and influences have changed, im doing alot more NOFX but im finding it really hard to find their sound, my guitar stopped working and i put in my brothers guitar which has a much cleaner pickup and stiffer strings, but the tremolo palm muting sounded insane.
can anyone give a small ehads up as to what string/pickups would help give a raw, crunchy, dirty but clean sound that el hefe from NOFX gives out? Even someone helping describe what kind of a sound it is, cause i'm self taught, i dont play too badly, but i know no theory.
literally anything would help, cheers. x
looks like you need a mark III, a mark iv, or a mark v.

definitely need a new amp.
Prs se Holcomb is the answer
Well most heavy rhythm is played by the guy with the les paul. so youll need a guitar with a humbucker in the bridge. the clean and less distorted stuff is played by a telecaster. theres pretty much no way you can get both tones with the same guitar unless you have one with coil tapping ability. also, get .10 gauge strings. you probably use .9 on your fender and maybe your bro has .10 or try some different string companies. ernie ball.9s are way easier to bend than .9s from d'addario. so if you want the heavy sound, humbucker in the neck with .10 gauge. for the tele, use the single coils of your strat.
Quote by NOFXscalzi
s and d

So much fail in so few words.