Hi, my name's Sara and i'm a bit new to song writing.

This song is about a dream i had several years ago about watching the stars with a guy. It was so perfect and when I woke up I felt so content. Since then I've never experienced such a feeling. I've never fallen in love, but when I do I hope it will be something like that dream.

The songs i write tend to be melody driven with lyrics that I consider to be a bit cliche. I hope to grow as a songwriter and write lyrics that are more interesting and deeper. I'd really appreciate any advice on how to improve this song:

moonlit night of summers eve
stars shine bright for you and me
happiness beyond compare
as you sift softly through my hair

i don't know what happens next
my hearts beating out my chest
you're the answer to my wish
who knew love could feel like this

and i wake up to nothing at all
you are the better part of me
my surreality

why does this have to end
we can run, forever send
our worries to the edge of time
together with your hand in mine

don't let me go and face the day
i can't yet throw this all away
for my love would fade to dust
or antiquate in shrouds of rust

and i wake up to nothing at all
you are the better part of me
my surreality
Last edited by goodintheory at Jul 13, 2011,
*hyphen overload*
First thing I would do is ditch the 'Oh's' as lyrics, the purpose of those I assume is to harmonise vocals with music - not to convey the message. Same goes with the Wa-ay-ay bits, as far as lyrical content, they serve no purpose here.
This being said I'll give it a looksie

In terms of rhymes, they're solid, and despite being a little cliche` work - you can't write a love song without being cliche anyway.
Focus on the tense though; sections like "for you and me - happiness beyond compare" throws off the theme a little, perhaps you could make the first stanza "I" "I feel happiness".

I did quite like the 2nd last stanza
"why does this have to end
we can run, forever send
our worries to the edge of time