So, well pretty much to start off I've been playing in this band for 6 months. It includes my best friend playing lead/rhythm(we switch roles) and are genre is mostly hard rock/some classic/ some metal. We are composing are first album and in these last few weeks it seems everything is going downhill. My friend is trying to change our band into classic rock and saying he made this band and it's his. I was the one who asked him to join and started this band after my old one broke up.

We really don't have a drummer because it's hard to find one where I live, and no one called for my post at Guitar Center. Our bassist lives about 45 - 1 hour away from us, and when school starts up again he can't really practice with us Wednesdays and Fridays. My friend is what I would call a band jumper for more PG names. He starts about 3 bands cause our band isn't bluesy or classic rock. Now I don't mind 1 side band or 2, but He goes off for about 3 bands making and to drum for my old band mates band who wants to "lead" them better.

That I don't really think will work because He is more of an "I'm better then you and I should be appreciated more cause I'm a self-proclaimed guitar god" kind of characters. so I don't think that my friend will want to stay with him for long. Every time I confront him about how I feel about him being in all these different bands while I'm trying to stay with this and actually get something going for us and working on the album and writing lyrics. I don't see how he can be in all those bands and still have time for our band. When I say this to him; he gives me the "Oh, these are just side bands and our band is my main one" speech, and it just unsettles me a lot.

I don't want to drop him because he is my friend and he is a very good guitar player which is hard to find where I live as well, but I think tomorrow I am going to have a serious discussion about how I feel about this in general.