Hi Guys,

I've got a budget of around £500 for a new bass guitar (upped from previous £300 budget). I play bass guitar in a clubs band that do covers from Thin Lizzy, Bad Company and Lynyryd Skynyryd right through to Abba, The Proclaimers and Don Henley. So I figure I'm going to need a pretty well rounded bass, like the Fender Jazz, perhaps?

I'm left handed, and although my job is in a clubs band, I'm studying Music Technology, so would like a nice sounding bass guitar for recording with too. I use a Radial JDI instead of an amp, as I just love the characteristics of it.

What do you guys recommend?

Regards,

Jampottt
When you listed those bands I immediately thought P bass. Though a J would suit you perfectly well too.

Do you have any specs you would like, any extras? Anything you specifically don't want?
Quote by UraniYum
Fuck you I'm trying to be caring and shit

Quote by Cb4rabid
Okay guys, I have a confession to make. Not really a confession since it's something that's been bugging me for awhile but I've always been in denial about it.

**** you gilly, it's not what you think
Just a pretty much all rounder bass. I've not been much of a bass player, I'll be honest. I picked it up about 4 years ago after being asked to play for my schools concert band, I agreed to as long as he'd put me through my grades. I bought a no make £80 bass, got my grade 8 and then just left it to collect dust, until joining this band. Now I'm falling in love, I need a really nice sounding bass.

I think I'll benefit from it due to sounding better, allowing for my playing to be better and also when recording, because I've been using a lot of synth bass instead, due to my bass not quite cutting it.

I don't really have any specific specs other than £500 being my budget. I've found the Jazz bass for £510 can't find a decent price on the Precision though, they all seem to be the American £1000 ones.

I know this may be a silly question, but I'm not that clued up on Bass guitars..