So I have wrestled with the "right rig" for me for years. My 1st real amp was a Marshall Master Volume combo, then through a couple of more I graduated to an original Peavey 5150 (before the 5150 II crap), I have experience with many more over the years either I owned or did extensive studio work or played through some one else's on a long term basis (usually doing a medium term fill in for another band and putting the wear on their gear and not mine...those are marked with an *) Line 6 Flextone 2 & 3*, Line 6 Vetta, Laney G50, Mesa Dual Rec*, Marshall TSL 2000*, Carvin V3, Randall M100 (& RM4 Preamp), Peavey Triple XXX, 5150 III* and a few others. I always seem to come back to the 5150 (1995 script edition), the main tone is right where I like to spend most of my time tonally but its just not versatile enough, about 5 years ago I purchased a Boss GT Pro Rack pre/processor, mainly because I like Boss stuff good enough and it would connect via the 4 cable method so I could run fx in the front or in the loop & it would switch channels on my amp for me.