I've been playing guitar for four years, and I'm pretty good, I know all my scales, major/minor at least, so I can construct chords, or google them if I don't already know them. I'm looking to learn some new songs, in the range of A2-A3. I can probably do most of the guitar stuff you'll throw at me, but please, nothing too difficult, RHCP isn't too hard, but singing+guitar is impossible, at least for me, so all things considered, any recommendations?

1) You want to be in Singing & Vocals subforum.

2) Seriously, your range is one octave? Get a vocal teacher and have him/her teach you how to sing properly (e.g. breathing with the diaphragm, how to access the head voice and falsetto, etc.)

3) Start learning to sing and play guitar. Take an easy song like Free Falling, learn the rhythm, learn the words. Hum the vocal melody while playing the guitar part, then work your way to fully singing. Repeat as needed.

4) I cannot emphasize strongly enough how important getting a teacher is. Bad singing technique can ruin your voice forever. A number of hard rock singers are great examples (Chester Bennington, Corey Taylor, Claudio Sanchez, for starters). Seriously, do it.

EDIT: 5) Learn how to properly word a post. I realized while rereading it (to check if I covered your points) that you're less coherent than a drunken schizophrenic (a bit harsh, admittedly, but occasionally hyperbole is necessary).
Quote by SonOfPest
Its the Lydian mode; formed in Eastern Arabia when the Persians invaded England.

Quote by Blind In 1 Ear
try the sexolydian scale.
Last edited by jwd724 at Jul 14, 2011,