Going to jump directly into the details that the sticky at the top asks for before posting before I get into a paragraph about other stuff.

Budget? - Ideally around $500, but if ABSOLUTELY NEEDED I can stretch to about $800

Genres? - Indie Rock (Arcade Fire, Tokyo Police Club, Silversun Pickups, The Shins, Modest Mouse), Rock (Breaking Benjamin, 12 Stones, Lostprophets, Taproot, 10 Years, Alter Bridge, The Used), Alternative (Brand New, Radiohead, Chevelle, Switchfoot)

New or Used? - I have absolutely no problems with used equip.

Home or Gig? - Home practice entirely.

Closest City? - Baltimore, MD

Current Gear?
- I have a Marshall MG100HDFX head on some random Marshall cab and it's just atrocious, I got completely scammed by the name.

Guitar wise
: Epiphone Les Paul Standard, Ibanez IC400

Now, I really really would prefer if I could keep it under $500. I'm just a beginner on the electric (I've played acoustic for 6 years though), and I have no idea about effects pedals or any quality amps.

I don't need the top of the line amps, I want a GOOD practice amp since I won't be gigging.

Effects Pedals wise, I'm just as clueless there. For the genres above and those kind of styles of those bands, what pedals would I want? I don't think I can get many pedals AND an amp with the budget, so would a combo amp be better? I'm completely in the dark about pedals/effects.

I'm open to a higher quality up to $500 combo amp if it has GOOD effects. I also require a headphone jack on on the amp.

Again, I can go to $800 if ABSOLUTELY REQUIRED, but as I'm just starting out I don't think that's entirely necessary considering I won't be gigging at all.

Thanks for all the help in advance, if you need more information feel free to ask. I'm completely at the mercy of you guys here so any input would be greatly appreciated.
Last edited by remedy1419 at Jul 15, 2011,
Fender Mustang I feel.
Quote by Blompcube