Page 1 of 2
Hello GB&C.

This is my first build thread here, and my second build ever. My first one took me about 3 years to finish, but I worked on it off and on while I was in High School, so I hope to have this one finished by the end of the summer.

Specs:
Body: Swamp Ash
Neck: 5 piece Maple/Wenge/Maple/Wenge/Maple
Bolt-On construction.
Fretboard: Birdseye Maple
Scale: 25.5"
# Frets: 24
Inlay: Side dots only.
Headstock: Reverse Fender-inspired, 3x4
Hardware: Black
Bridge: Hipshot Fixed 7
Tuners: Hipshot
Controls: 1 Vol, 3-way switch
Pickups: Likely to be Crunch Lab and Liquifire set.

Now, What everyone REALLY wants to see... PICS!

Absolutely beautiful Swamp Ash blank.

The neck, glued up and planed.

The awesome Birdseye Maple Fretboard.

The body cut out roughly.

I've been sanding the body shape by hand so far, but I might be getting a drill press soon, and with it, some sanding drums.

And of course, the parts.

I haven't quite decided on the pickups yet. The guitar will be for mostly metal, but I'm not sure if I want to go the active route. If anyone has any suggestions, that would be awesome.

Also I haven't totally decided on the colour yet. I'm thinking to stain it red, as I really like how the black hardware contrasts with the red body and maple fretboard.

Anyway I hope some of you find this interesting, and I'll try to keep updating as I go along.
Looks good so far.

My suggestion would be to be different and NOT go the active path.

Passives allow more of the woods tone to shine through...IMO
Gear
Jackson RR24M - EMG ALX w/ ABQ installed
Ibanez Xiphos - stock
LTD Alexi 600 - stock
Ibanex RG - Tone Zone(bridge), PAF Pro(neck)
Blackstar HT-20H
Fulltone OCD
MXR 10 Band EQ
That's a good start. The ass is a little flat for my tastes, but I can live with it. Good choice on tuners especially.
Last edited by Pikka Bird at Jul 15, 2011,
@srob7001: Thanks. Thats my thought process on the pickups as well.