Page 1 of 2
Hey everyone! I'm 15 and all I've ever wanted my whole life was to be a musician. I've already become somewhat of a recording session guitarist in my area, playing for various gospel artists in my church, filling in for bands who's guitarists can't make shows and playing with the seniors at school. I also have my own band. When I first came out and said I want to be a musician (age 5 or 6 or so), my parents didnt seem to mind. I don't think they thought I was serious. However, 6 years later, I began playing guitar and decided that I wanted to peruse it (I used to be a drummer). Then my parents began discouraging me. I will find a career in music (not necessarily entertainment but maybe a teacher or so). But i really want to have my parents blessing when I get a job. Is it normal to be able to keep a good relationship with your family? Thanks everyone. I really want advice.
Noone ever got what they want listening to their parents.. Parents always wants whats 'safest' for you, and making a living as a musician isn't the most stable life..
However, life is not necessarily easy, and sometimes you have to go thought some rough patches to make it to where you want to be.. So go with your heart, are you willing to make the sacrifices that might need to be made living as a musician, if so.. Go ahead..! When you finally settle down and if you start making a living as a musician your parents will most likely be proud of you for doing what you want, and fighting hard for it..
Quote by beatreebor
its your life, do what you want.

this. They will come around eventually. Im sure they just have a problem with that fact that you may be making about zero money. Parent s want their children to succeed.
What?! There's a clean channel on my amp?!

Quote by GoodOl'trashbag
omfg i totally forgot about that, you sir are jesus christ.
Why do yore parents have a problem with you becoming a musician?

Do what you want to do, don't let them stop you from pursuing yore dreams.