I've been singing for about 3 months now, no lessons or anything as of yet, but I've been doing a lot of personal research and practice. I have to ask those who can sing well; how should my throat (+other related body parts) feel while singing?
if u are singing correctly (not like axl rose) then your throat should not feel like anything,. no tension at all. u should feel relaxed and let the breath flow from you freely. The force should come from your diaphram(stomach muscles) have fun
Yeah, speech level's definitely cool. If you're in school, join a choir, they should be semi easy to get into (if you're a guy and have a decent ear), and the director will (hopefully) be able to train you up nice and proper.

Anywho, basically, no tension. The muscles in your neck should be relaxed. Your throat should not get soar after singing. (At least not alarmingly so) You shouldn't be swallowing your tongue. And read up on the Passagio. That crap is hard to do with no guidance. And it's just hard as hell in general.

And pretty much one of the most important things is: Your larynx shouldn't move.

That's your Adams apple if you've never heard it called that.

Good luck man, singing will help you with every other instrument you ever learn.

PS As far as personal research goes. Remember to take everything you read with a grain of salt. There's a lot of people out there on the internet giving out misinformation.
1966 Stella Harmony Acoustic
Epiphone Dot Studio
Fender Starcaster (Made by 5 year olds in China)
THE Epiphone Mandolin
Dean 7 String (Totally Korean)
Yamaha C45m
Mitchell 12 MD100S

More Strings=More Range=More BadAssery
relaxed as if you wasnt singing at all. I would not recommend speech level singing unless its in your most comfortable range. But even at that i dont think its a good way to develop technique.

Your doing your own research thats great. heres a link for ya

www.thebelcantotechnique.com - also see links and resources