Hey, guys. I've been playing for about 10 months (electric). I practice quite a lot. Recently I've noticed some fairly serious damage on my fingertips. Finger 1, 2, and 3 have string-shaped holes in them. It's there all the time, and not only directly after I've held down a string. I've still been able to play, but sometimes when I press down too hard with my index finger (which seems the worst) I feel a kind of shock or tingle go through my finger, which is pretty painful. Whenever I play, I'm pretty wary of pushing down too hard, so it feels kind of inhibiting. Should I call it quits for a while, or just keep playing? Also wondering if you guys know of any finger caps I can use? I've called a few music stores around here, with no luck, so I'd have to order it from overseas. Thanks in advance.
It's normal. Keep playing. Don't bother with finger caps.

/thread.

EDIT: Except for the shock when you press down. That's not normal. But then finger caps won't help with that.
I stopped playing about 3 hours ago and my fingers haven't sprung back yet. They still have grooves in them. Nothing to worry about.

EDIT: You need a groove on you little finger too. Don't waste a quarter of your arsenal of destruction!
Try and give it a rest for a few days or a week.

It's what i had to do when i first started, just to let your wrist/fingers recover
You Dont Know Me

I have 10 Anarchy Points - I also have 8 Mythology points!

Peavey Generation EXP Custom White
Yamaha 120S Black
Korg AX5G
Digitech Whammy
Zvex Fuzz Factory
Boss OS2

Quote by mrfinkle213
This man has brains.

Quote by CoreysMonster
Banned for indirect reference.
Quote by DSB__
It's there all the time, and not only directly after I've held down a string. I've still been able to play, but sometimes when I press down too hard with my index finger (which seems the worst) I feel a kind of shock or tingle go through my finger, which is pretty painful.