Hi guys. I've been playing acoustic guitar for about a year and a half now. The direction I want to head in is mainly your typical YouTube cover artist (with the singing and playing) but I also want to be able to play finger picking songs too if I wanted too. I'm self taught and I've got my chords and barre chords down, but other than that I really suck. I can't use a pick (both picking and strumming with one, I strum with my hand) at all and I'm terrible at strumming aside from the one strumming pattern I use for everything. I know there's tons of things I could go about learning such as scales and lots of other things I don't know about, but I don't know which direction to go in. I was wondering what books you guys suggest that would help me go in the direction that will help me achieve my goal.

I can't really get a teacher because my schedule is pretty erratic. I'll have lots of spare time, but it will pretty much be randomly scattered throughout the week.

Thanks for the help guys.
Really not sure I'd have any books to recommend to you, other than theory. I guess this is one of the pitfalls of being self-taught. What I'm reading is that you're having a lot of problems. What you might be better off doing is finding a lesson DVD, or finding free lessons on the internet.

Not that strumming with your fingers is wrong - it's not, but you should learn to use a pick when necessary. You should also learn some new strumming patterns. Fingerstyle is also good to learn.

A teacher would be the best way to learn, but if you can't spare the time, or your time is oddly allocated, then you'll have to fall back on the other methods I suggested.
The only book I know is the Sagreras but it is for classical guitar, sooo yep, my post is useless.
Quote by Våd Hamster
Fuck yes you are the best poster ever

do you wanna hear a little piano composition I have just made?, I promise it don't totally sucks, you can hear it on my profile, any feedback would be really appreciated -C4C