Greetings Bassists

First off, I realise there is a very similar thread in this forum right now, that guy just has slightly different needs to me, so I'm going ahead with this thread.

I'm a guitarist of 8 years or so and my dad of 52 is asking for my family to buy him a Bass for his birthday. Absolute beginner. I'm just looking for a nice beginners Bass and combo amp for him.

He says he wants to be able to play with me and my sister (a beginner drummer) when their skills are up to it, so he needs an amp able to jam with a rock-size drum kit (and my 100W marshall I suppose- though its capable of being quieter than the drums). He wants to play stuff like Muse and Radiohead, so something with a dirty channel and footswitch would be great, otherwise he says he'll buy a Big Muff or a Bass Distortion.

But anyway, I'm looking for a combination that will work well for those styles just for jamming at home. I'm only really interested in buying new as its a birthday present. My budget would probably be around $300-400AUD and maybe a bit more for a Muff. Maybe willing to stretch that if there is something vastly superior for less than $600.

So I reckon a Squier P-bass or Jazz Standard? I have no idea about amps though...
What would you guys suggest?

Cheers

tl;dr: I'm buying a Beginner's Bass and Bass Amp for my dad's birthday. Suggestions?
Anything from the Squier Vintage Modified or Classic Vibe series will do. Great bass guitars. They cost something around 300. For an amp I'd look for an Ashdown. Not expensive but great quality. A friend of mine is using his for years now.
Let your dad buy the Big Muff.