I think I pulled a good job considering I'm still a beginner.

I'm not sure though what's missing. Maybe some of you pros can enlighten me on the pros and the cons of this mix.

Things I'm not sure about:

- Rythm guitars panned hard left and hard right ( 100 % )
I hesitated to boost the high ends. Rhythm guitars sounded clearer, but some clipping was heard when I did that.

- Lead guitars : Mid frequencies boosted

- I didn't master, I don't know what to do to master this.

Here's the link : http://www.speedyshare.com/files/29460794/rock_mix.mp3
The symphonizer
Sounds pretty good to me.

The drums sound a bit flat. I know that usually pretty inevitable with programmed drums, but to make them a bit better you could change the velocities of each hit.

Did the drum package you used have the option to mix each channel separately or did you just have a master fader for the drums? If it's the former, go back and check some of your levels to make things a bit clearer.

x
Fender Geddy Lee Jazz
Warwick Corvette $$
Rockbass Streamer Fretless
Hartke HA5000
SWR Triad

Quote by Victory2134
I happen to enjoy every mankiss from shinhoman.
Not too bad at all, pretty good in fact, but a few pointers.

Never ever pan hard left and right. Go for about 20 or 30 but not full

Leave space for every instrument. So on the rhythm guitars try reducing both the bass and treble and boosting the mid. On the lead boost the treble but reduce mid slightly and bass.

I can't hear the kick so you need to EQ that; increase the lows. If you reduce the lows on the rhythm guitar as well the kick should start to come through.

Snares ok but could be punchier, try compressing it.

If things sound flat (which they do a bit here) add reverb. A good reverb can fix most stale mixes.
Last edited by no lolage at Jul 17, 2011,
Thank you !

I can actually separate all the sounds in different inserts, and that's what I did.

But I don't know what's wrong to change.
The symphonizer
Quote by no lolage