Hi UG people! My first thread.

I've had this on my mind for quite a while now. I've been playing guitar for less than 2 years and it's my only true passion(well obviously music as art form as well). I am, no question, the best player between my friends, but this does not seem to mean anything in the sens that they really suck.

I'm totally self taught(books and internet) and I'm truly giving it as much as I can between school and well, general life(I'm age 17). But I wonder... Do I still stand a chance in the music business or even just in a local band?

I mean guitar is probably one of the most popular instruments ever and therefor there is a MASSIVE amount of competition to worry about. So a guise what I'm asking, is do us young new guitarists stand a chance in the world out there while only being self taught, playing a cheap guitar but still loving the f**k out of everything that is guitar and good music? And, to advanced players, what does it take to make it? Are other players in the same situation?
Making it in the music business is hardly about skill with your instrument. It's what you bring to the table and how you sell yourself that counts.
^^The above is a Cryptic Metaphor^^

"To know the truth of history is to realize its ultimate myth and its inevitable ambiguity." Everything is made up and the facts don't matter.

MUSIC THEORY LINK
Prepare to be rejected by everyone because they, "already have a guitar player."
Quote by vintage x metal
I love you =] I can't say I was very fond of you when we first started talking because you trolled the hell out of my threads, but after talking to you here I've grown very attached to you.

Yeah, write to my fanclub about it, honey.
Yeah. There are amazing guitarists that haven't made it big, just because they haven't "sold out" (this applies more to bands I guess), they don't appear on MTV and such. I'd do that (play without selling out), and probably will. As long as I get enough money to survive.