I've written and recorded a bunch of songs recently. It's my first time doing something like this and listening back to them it's pretty clear my vocals need working.

I've recorded myself playing live at the pub and I've found it to be a much better performance than for these recorded in my bedroom.

I'm hoping someone with a better ear and more knowledge than me can tell what it is I'm doing 'wrong' and what'll be the best things to focus on to improve.

There's a bunch of tracks with a music player thingie here:

http://abeandtell.com/music.html

The recordings are pretty rough. It's recorded on a sony portable recorder.

I really appreciate the help!
I'm no expert and you're a much better singer than i am, but i thought any feedback would be useful...

Overall i thought all the tracks are great. If i were to say anything i would say that you could put more emotion/energy into your vocals. Especially when the song climaxes or reaches a loud part.

but yeah other than that, nice!
I really appreciate the feedback mate. Thanks for taking the time and thanks for your kind words I find it amazingly encouraging.

You might be onto something with the 'emotion' thought. I find I'm more relaxed on stage and get lost in the music more. A couple of beers and having my sounds amplified and returned to me probably helps. Sitting in the room and recording was different and I felt much more conscious of what I was doing which probably made me less relaxed and less into the music and so less energetic and emotional.

Thanks again!
Disclaimer:

I do not know how you envision your music, or how you want it to be. I do not know the extent of your capabilities or the resources you have available. This is just an opinion from a fellow musician.

Shy Away: