Hey UG,

I'm going to join a band (as guitarist). My guitar teacher advised me a while ago, to buy strap locks for my guitar, since it's quite a heavy one and a normal strap wouldn't work.

The guitar is a Gibson Les Paul Deluxe 1996, made from one piece of heavenly wood; but is quite a heavy guitar.

So how do strap locks work? I've read some stuff on the internet and I've seen some Strap Locks and it looks like they need to be screwed into the guitar..?
I have no experience with all this and so I need some help with this.
How do you attach them to your guitar, are they removable, is it going to leave some 'scars' on the guitar...?

Thanks!
step 1: unscrew stock strap pins

step 2: screw in strap-lock pins

voilà, you're done!
I'm a dude, he's a dude, she's a dude, we're all dudes HEY!
And the size of the new strap-lock (pins?) fits all..?
I could just safely buy any (quality-) strap-lock and it will work?
as long as the screw they use to fasten into your guitar is the same size and goes to the same depth (or maybe further in), they will be direct replacements. i've put schaller and schaller type straplocks on every single guitar i ever owned, including a les paul studio i used to have. and they work beautifully
I'm a dude, he's a dude, she's a dude, we're all dudes HEY!
I would put a match or toothpick in the hole, before screwing in the new pins. This will make for a tighter fit.
"Don’t be a guitarist. Be a musician."

Steve Howe
They also make these:

http://www.jimdunlop.com/product/lok-strap

Which IMO work just fine, and cost a little more than a dollar each. They aren't as expensive, and personally I hate how much regular strap locks stick out, and how bulky they are. Honestly though if you have a good strap, I don't think you'll have a problem, as long as you don't do any of those cheesy guitar swings.
I use these http://www.jimdunlop.com/product/dual-design

And these http://www.jimdunlop.com/product/ergo-lok-strap