I'm a total noob in music theory (will be getting a teacher next week and a book) but I've been trying to learn some on my own.

There's one thing I don't get though (I'm talking about scales here but this applies to almost everything) - What exactly am I supposed to be learning?

I know, scales, modes, chords. I always hear "learn the major and minor then move on to X, learn the Circle of Fifths" But what does this mean? Should I memorize the notes on each scale? Is it being able to play said scale on the guitar?
I don't quite get where it is I'm supposed to be aiming.

Thanks!
If you befuddle yourself, your new teacher should be able to clear everything up. A little preexisting knowledge never hurt anyone. Don't bother with modes, you won't be able to comprehend them until you know some other things. The circle of fifths tells you what notes you are able to use in a song so you can stay in key, sharps moving to the right, flats moving to the left. As for scales, definitely focus on the major and minor right now and don't concern yourself with anything else until you know those two scales like old friends. However, you'd be cheating yourself if you only learned patterns and box positions of these scales. You really should learn the formula behind how to build the major and minor scales.
Quote by MatthewLeisher