So I've got my SM57 mic plugged into the XLR input on the Fast Track pro. And I have the drivers set up (this is Win 7 64 bit btw). And I have the ASIO set to M-Audio USB and the inputs are enabled.
But when I start playing, the VU meter doesn't move at all, so no sound even comes out/registers. I don't know what I'm doing wrong so I hope you guys can help.

I'm a noob at recording though (First time recording guitar)

EDIT: Actually when I click record it says "No tracks armed for recording"
How do I fix that?
Last edited by scarhawk at Jul 18, 2011,
in reaper add a track by pressing Ctrl + T

theres a greyed out button with "ar" written on it, click that and the track is record armed

under that theres a grey speaker icon, click that once if you want to monitor the track - that will let you hear what's going in to it.

the next button is "in" where you can select the input source for the track if you aren't hearing your guitar, and if you can't get that to work hit Ctrl + P to open up preferences and go to Audio -> Device and set up your input device :]

http://www.reaper.fm/guides/REAPER%20Quick%20Start.pdf quick start guide should take you through everything you need
Last edited by funeralllllllll at Jul 18, 2011,
I did everything you mentioned but it's still not working.. GRR
The VU meter isn't moving at all.

EDIT:
Also I know that my mic is giving the signal to my FTP just fine because the green light flashes whenever I play.
It looks like it's an issue coming from the FTP itself. (FTP to USB port)
When I went to test the device in the control Panel the "testing bar" didn't move or flash at all.
The LED flashes so it's not the mic cable or mic.
I don't know if it's the drivers though or am I not selecting something that I should be?

I did hear there are issues with the FTP with Windows 7 64 bit though.
http://s190.photobucket.com/albums/z289/maskedmurader23/Reaper/