I've been playing bass for about a year now, and im not trying to sound bad, but i think im pretty good, ive learned quite a bit of songs, done some covers and such, but i never really got the chance to have a teacher teach me about bass and stuff, all ive really learned is how to play...i cant really get a teacher because everywhere ive looked i cant find any Bass guitar teachers anywhere near me or anything, but im just wondering, although my self taught, does this mean ill never be able to suceed the way other bassists have that had teachers, am i any worse or anything just because i havent had the chance to have a teacher? any thoughts would be appreciated thanks
How do you get a rock musician to stop playing?

Put sheet music in front of them.

An old joke but there is so much truth to it
I learned by myself and it's going pretty good
It's not always about the teacher but the determination too
"[Bleach] is mostly water, and we are mostly water, therefore we are bleach"

I feel we should go to...

Purple Alert
Last edited by soulsablaze at Jul 18, 2011,
Quote by vampire275
im not trying to sound bad, but i think im pretty good

Trying not to sound bad is rather important for being pretty good

Can you find guitar teachers? Ask them if they are also bassists.
Got any friends who are decent bassists? If you know anyone then ask them for some advice. Learn from musicians you know. Jam with people and join bands, the surest way to become a better bassist is to play a lot with other people.
If not then you just gotta try yer hardest to make proper use of the resources avaliable on the internets I geuss. Im more or less self taught on the bass, although im mainly a guitarist and have quite good theory knowledge from that.

Id suggest learning guitar and even getting a teacher to get your theory knowledge sorted, but I wont as this is the bass subforum and I imagine Id be castrated.
But boys will be boys and girls have those eyes
that'll cut you to ribbons, sometimes