I started playing guitar and taking lessons when I was 13, and I'm now 20. I've always been interested in becoming a good player and have had specific goals in mind for years but whenever it came to sitting down and practicing in a focused way, I always let school or work or whatever else seemed important at the time get in the way.
Now it's summer and I have some time to establish a practice routine that I can stick to once I get busy again when school starts. I get somewhat discouraged when I think about how good I would already be if I had practiced more over the last 7 years.

Has anyone else made the decision to "get serious" about guitar after a long period of playing? How did it go?
Play the music, not the instrument. ~Author Unknown

blackzeppelion
Who's the band that could become the next led zeppelin?
Ovenman
Iron blimp.
J.A.M
Aluminum helicopter.
Ovenman
*Breaks out periodic table* Magnesium bi-plane.
IMO if you're going to learn an instrument, you might as well take it seriously. Otherwise, what's the point? You don't have to practice 7 hours a day, being a shut-in, to take it seriously though.
Quote by MarshmallowPies
I started playing guitar and taking lessons when I was 13, and I'm now 20. I've always been interested in becoming a good player and have had specific goals in mind for years but whenever it came to sitting down and practicing in a focused way, I always let school or work or whatever else seemed important at the time get in the way.
Now it's summer and I have some time to establish a practice routine that I can stick to once I get busy again when school starts. I get somewhat discouraged when I think about how good I would already be if I had practiced more over the last 7 years.

Has anyone else made the decision to "get serious" about guitar after a long period of playing? How did it go?

Don't worry about it. Just play as much as you can and enjoy it!
shred is gaudy music