ladies and gents,

im just getting into the point where i need to pick up a few barre chords to keep learning simple songs and i have a question regarding how to play it.

am i to be sure to press every string down firmly from the root note as if im playing a standard chord or simply lay the index finger down over the notes for a muting effect?

any help is appreciated - especially any tips you all may have to make barre chords simpler.

-shermski
Generally, you want the notes to ring clear, just as if you were fretting them individually. As for a tip, fret the individual notes of the chord and then put down your index finger. Roll the finger a little toward the head of the guitar, so you are pressing down more with the edge of the finger than the bottom. Adjust the finger so that the joints aren't over a string and keeping it from being pressed. Try to get pretty close to the fret. Sometimes it's easier to kind of point the finger toward your face rather than trying to keep it perfectly parallel to the fret.
Last edited by Kyle76 at Jul 21, 2011,
Don't be discouraged. It takes lots of practice to consistently get a clear barre chord.
Also if you have a smaller hand then you can also use your thumb for barre chords, I find it a bit easier than pressing the index finger on all six strings.But thats just me...and Hendrix, and Frusciante, and Kyle Gass...it also opens new possibilities because it can leave your pinky finger free to perform some extra hammer ons and pullofs.
Go learn to play CAGED system, Barre chords are lazy. Cheers
You know what, I've looked at the CAGED lessons on Justinguitar.com and I don't recall any place where he says that it eliminates barre chords. It's a matter of recognizing patterns that look like C, A, G, E and D chords all over the fretboard, which if you've been playing a while isn't that hard to do.

Or maybe I just had too much Jack Daniels that night, I don't know.
Quote by tuxs