It's kinda funny. Music is used to get rid of your stress, but at the same time, making music can cause alot of stress. I often feel as though I have to prove myself to people. That people won't know I'm a good guitarist and musician unless I act cocky and always point it out. When I don't put myself out there performing, I feel really stressed. I didn't get into music to be the best or to be cool or popular. In fact, rock music is highly unpopular in my high school, where people don't know who AC/DC is. I got into music to enjoy myself. For example, I recorded an album last year that didn't do well. For a good while I gave up on my own music and just played in my band. Now I'm back into my own music and I wrote a collection of songs that really expresses me well. But I'm constantly worried no one else will understand. Any tips on how to regain that satisfaction of doing what you do without comparing yourself to others? Thanks!
If you're a good guitarist, people will notice and tell you without you pointing it out for them. In fact if you go and tell someone how great you are, they'll mostly just think you're a wanker, and not care about your guitar skills.

It's actually quite interesting once you get to the professional/semi-professional leagues of musicians, you're not really allowed to toot your own horn, because there will ALWAYS be someone better than you. What becomes more important is that you're reliable, social and can do the job.

Of course there is a bit of ranting and raving behind the scenes about certain people's skills, and the odd audience member will praise you like a god.