i'm using:
amplitube 3
reaper
m audio fast track usb mkii

playing metal.

tried tweaking the settings in amplitube for ages, and using others presets that have sounded good for them and it honestly sounds SO bad. it also seems to sound worse when recorded and played back in reaper than when i'm monitoring
Nobody can help you without hearing your recording. Share some clips.
Two bands I'm obsessed about : Coheed and Cambria.
Metal is one of the more difficult styles to record at first. I'm still learning how!

Part of the problem is that the equipment you hear on your favorite metal albums costs A LOT of money:

Rectified or tubed-out heads (depending on your taste) cost a lot, and chances are you don't have the money. I don't!

Solution? A decent amp modeler.

I am very happy with my Vox VT40+. So far I have discovered a nice tubey Ampeg or Laney type of sound, a really good simulation of Dimebag's rig from Vulgar Display (SERIOUSLY accurate!!), and Marshall. Cleans are good, and there's even a nice Chicago Blues type of sound - overdriven Fender dual-12 cab type of deal.

All of those are useful in various styles of metal, or even for different parts of the same song.

You can record DI or mic it, but even the DI is run through the speaker circuit so that it impedes the signal properly - and that's one of the major drawbacks of DI.

Drums... God, you could spend $6000 on a good set of metal drums! Not saying you'd have to, but you could. I mean the sky is literally the limit - and the more you spend the better your metal will sound.

I use EZ Drummer Metalheads. It's okay. I won't sing its praises the way I do my practice amp, but it works. It can be made to sound good if you know what you're doing. Thinking like a drummer is important.

People say "Superior Drummer or Battery is better," which is true, but a drum track written by a drummer on EZ will sound better than a track written by a hack on SD or Battery.