I know everybody's a guitar guy here...Hopefully there are a couple of you who can help with this.

I'm a drummer, and I'm teaching someone drums. I'm starting with a few simple key things for him to work on: snare drum technique, rudiments, rock/blues beats/fills, reading sheet music, and understanding rhythm and common rhythm-keeping technique of drummers.

Now we're mostly focussing on technique first...How to hold the sticks (match grip for now), and simply hit the drum in time using acents, regular notes, and ghost notes. Those are the most important, most basic things for a drummer to learn first, basically the mechanics of hitting things, how to hold the sticks and the motions of your hits.

Problem: I learned this a very long time ago. Its second nature to me. My drum teacher loves my technique (unless I'm learning something I've never tried before, everyone's had that day where you're too confused to worry about technique lol), because its been forced into my brain and my muscle memory for years by my teacher and my brother before him. So I have no idea how to dissect what I'm doing and teach it to somebody...I'm always asking him to step off the drumset so I can drum and try to understand how to put what I'm doing into words. It gets very annoying.

I was pretty young when my brother started teaching me (well, middle school, so only a few years ago, but I repress those memories lol), I don't remember how he taught me, and its too natural to put into words. This is a pretty bad problem, I've gained a decent reputation teaching guitar and bass, I don't want that to be ruined because I was thinking of stating to take in students other than my friends and charging for lessons, I know I'm ready.

So I was wondering if anybody had some ideas of what I could tell him about technique?

Thanks for any/all help.