I have an Ibanez SR505 which I have loved dearly ever since i bought it for about $300 USD a few years ago. However, my style of play has changed alot and I'm no longer playing metal like i was when i bought the thing. So I decided, what the hell, I'll post it on craigslist to see if anyone wants to trade for a Fender Jazz or P bass....I get this offer from a guy willing to trade his MIJ '75 Jazz Bass Reissue, natural finish w/ maple fretboard and ash body for my Ibanez. I'm not an expert but damn im finding these things on ebay for quite a bit more than the $300 i paid initially...plus its exactly the bass I want for the music i'm playing these days.

Seems perfect, right? One conundrum.......its a fretless bass....and i have no interest in one of those. Seriously, I would drive to this guys place this very second and swap if it had some damn frets on it. What do I do? I dont know whether fretting a fretless bass is worthwhile or even possible/recommended. Help me UG!!
Buy a separate neck for it?
Quote by cakeandpiemofo
Of course I don't wanna go in the woods. There's bears in there.

Quote by Deliriumbassist
Jeff Ament is a sexy sexy beast.

Quote by Karvid
Yes. Chest hair = automatic awesome. Even if you're a woman.
If it's worth more than the bass you'd be trading for, why not trade, and then sell the Jazz at a higher price? You can then put the money towards getting a bass you want.
All you need is yo' fingers and the strings
I was skeptical about fretless basses at first as well, when I was in Long & McQuade one day though I thought I would try out a Warwick Fretless. In all honesty is was beautiful, I loved it. I would have bought the bass right then and there if I had the money - but here I am, though I do plan on getting a fretless in the future.

Do try out the bass, go to the guys house and play the bass, you may be surprised at how nice it is. If not, you can still change the neck, though changing the neck definitely isn't for everyone.