Hello there, I am new to this forum but have used the website for a while to get tabs and learn new things in the lesson section. I have played guitar for a little over a year and i think i have become fairly decent for the amount of time i have been playing. However i self taught and have picked up a habit of naturally down picking everything. I can play really fast with down picks and it doesn't sound any different to playing with alternates, It just looks very awkward when i play and its a very difficult habit to get rid of. Should i really be worrying about my picking style? or should i just continue playing things with down picks? Cheers, Jared.
Practice is the answer to (almost) all problems. If you have a habit you want to change, only by practicing the alternative method will you succeed.

Of course, there's always the option to just create your own style using the techniques you're good at.....
Gibson LP Traditional, LP GT, LP Studio, SG Standard x2
Barber Tone Press > EHX Worm >TC Polytune > EXH Glove > EHX East River Drive > Zoom G3 > TC Spark Mini Booster
EVH 5150 III LBXII
Jet City JCA22H
My SoundCloud
Having a good downpicking technique is definitely an advantage, but I think that alternate picking is a very important part of playing guitar. Even if you didn't like fast soloing, it's a vital technique for fast rhythm playing as well.
E:-6
B:-0
G:-5
D:-6
A:-0
E:-3
I find it kinda interesting that being a selftaught guitarist is the excuse for everything nowadays. How many of guitarist in the 80s were self taught? Joe Satriani is self taught. I mean, should the fact, you are selftaught, say, you are allowed to do mistakes in your technique aswell as having a teacher makes your technique perfect instantly? Just a few thoughts...

To the question: