Hi all,

I have been playing guitar on and off for about 12 years now however I only had a teacher for the first few years and since then my learning hasn't been very directed. As such I have noticed that my solos contain the same riffs on the same small collection of pentatonic scales, my theory is awful and my playing has stayed at the same level for the past few years.

I can't get a teacher as I can't afford it and I am moving to a different country soon so is there any suggestions as to try and get myself back on track and back enjoying playing like I once did?! I am roughly grade 5/6.

Cheers,

J.
pretty simple get out of your comfort zone and try something totally different. find some new scales or try jazz or country tunes. change won't come overnight but if you add new elements to your playing it will come.
I was the same way, i only knew minor pentatonic. Just pick up a scale book or check youtube for various scales and learn all your modes and how they work and you will be able to play anywhere on your neck. Also another good thing to do to advance your playing is to play with other musicians..

playing with other musicians advances your playing 10x faster than just playing in your bedroom.
loop pedal??
HILT!

Where's Waldo?

2 words:

crossroads
midnight

You'll find your mojo there.
Various Strats
PRS SC245 (2007)
Fessenden SD-10 pedal steel
Koch Studiotone XL
Mesa Boogie Express 5:25+
1958 National lap steel
Eastman El Rey 1
Same thing happened to me. So I started to learn different scales and styles. It worked great.
Have you tried Enzyte? It helped Smilin' Bob get his mojo back...
Then there's this band called Slice The Cake...

Bunch of faggots putting random riffs together and calling it "progressive" deathcore.
Stupid name.
Probably picked "for teh lulz"

Mod in UG's Official Gain Whores
Quote by W4RP1G
Same thing happened to me. So I started to learn different scales and styles. It worked great.

This worked great for me as well