Really sorry for asking such a stupid question but I am a complete newbie.

Restringing my acoustic guitar for the first time and I am getting into a bit of a stress! I am getting confused about which way to wind my key for different strings, I have heard bass should be wound on anticlockwise and treble clockwise. If I did this wrong would it make a difference? I am getting confused with my treble strings, if I turn the key clockwise the string winds on but looks wrong because the string doesn't seem to be winding on to the right side e.g. the g string is rubbing against the string post for the b string as it is feeding into the far, rather than the near side of the string post.

Hope this makes sense!
Last edited by nerdofprey at Jul 25, 2011,
It all depends - are all the tuners on the same side of the head of the guitar, or are there 3 on one side, 3 on the other?

If they're all on the same side, you should wind them all in the same direction.
Gibson LP Traditional, LP GT, LP Studio, SG Standard x2
Barber Tone Press > EHX Worm >TC Polytune > MXR Custom Badass 78 > EXH Glove > EHX East River Drive > Zoom G3 > TC Spark Mini Booster
Laney VC30
Marshall TSL602
Jet City JCA22H
My SoundCloud
Hmm I think I know what you're saying. It should be clockwise when you're holding your guitar like you usually do. Although, clockwise is clockwise no matter how you look at the guitar.

And yes it make a huge difference. Pic would be nice!
1966 Stella Harmony Acoustic
Epiphone Dot Studio
Fender Starcaster (Made by 5 year olds in China)
THE Epiphone Mandolin
Dean 7 String (Totally Korean)
Yamaha C45m
Mitchell 12 MD100S

More Strings=More Range=More BadAssery