Hi guys, I'm not sure if I'm posting this in the right place but as it involves a tuner I put it here anyway.

I have noticed a couple of times that when I am trying to learn a song using Tux Guitar I sound like I am out of tune but I have checked with my tuner and that shows the guitar is definitely in tune.
I am playing the Tux guitar on a laptop and only using the built in speakers so this could be a possibility that they are out (although I was using an on-line tuner until recently (and checked again with it last night) and wasn't having any problems with the sound from the laptop).

Is it something stupid that I am doing wrong (could even include my ear not trained well enough yet)?
A possibility that the tuner is no good (it was a pretty cheap one)?
The song I am trying is drop tuned and I am not (I do try and read the music and make sure that it matches the fret board but I am still a very new beginner to all that)?
Tux Guitar sounds are just not that good (please advise if you think that Guitar Pro is that much better that it is worth the investment, bearing in mind that I am only a beginner and the brief look I had at GP made it look very complicated and difficult to use)?

Or ....... what else could it be?

Any suggestions will be gratefully received.
Make sure it is on 440HZ, and make sure your guitar is intonated

Even though A should be 432...

^On second thought, don't mind that, it may just confuse you.
Where's Waldo?
You're right, that has confused me. I know the tuner is showing 440hz though.

Edit: And how do I check the guitar is intonated? I checked that tuning at the 12th fret if that helps.
Last edited by Henry Wilt at Jul 26, 2011,
If you tune your E correctly, does it read E on the 12th fret, and does the 12th fret harmonic also read E?
Where's Waldo?
Quote by chadreed32
If you tune your E correctly, does it read E on the 12th fret, and does the 12th fret harmonic also read E?