I have an Ibanez ART 320. I checked my neck and it's too flat. I've tried loosening the truss rod. I turn it 1/4 turn, retune, then I'll actually give it a day before I check it again. Well, the truss rod won't turn anymore (I won't force it, it just seems to be the max i can loosen it.) and the adjustment still isn't within the specs for this guitar. BTW, I'm using new Superslinks ( 9's). Also, my intonation is off on my low E. It's showing sharp and I have lengthened the string as far as I can. I understand that, by nature, the guitar is an out of tune instrument, but it seems that I should be able to get it closer.

I have set-up another guitar before so I'm not a noob to it, but I'm no expert either. I really would rather do it myself then take it to a shop. One, because there isn't a shop too close to me, and two, I'm cheap.
Last edited by david1707 at Jul 27, 2011,
Ok, it sounds like you may need more experience with truss rods to tackle this. If it's a 2-way truss rod, you should be able to back it off enough until it starts to bow the neck the opposite way. Perhaps the truss rod route is too big and it's maxing out before it's put enough pressure on the neck?

If it's a 1-way truss rod, then it sounds like the nut is seizing, and it may need some lubrication.
It's a two way and I won't force it to loosen anymore, but the neck needs to be a bit more concave.
I'd take it into a shop. They may encounter something like this often.
How far off is the action from the manufacturer's spec? I didn't have a problem getting to the spec with my Ibanez, and it looks like they used just about the same parts/specs on our guitars except your bridge is more modern-looking and it has a solid body.