Title. I want to hear how some of you guys learned all the notes on the fretboard. Don't mistake this for me asking how to do it, I just want to hear some of the different strategies people have.
The marked frets for me, just remembered which one was which and would find other notes based on those.
nice question.

Use the dots above the frets (along the neck) to find your way.
Mostly it comes with practice and a general feel for the fretboard.
Try playing with your eyes closed too. When you can shred without looking at what your playing, you have learned the fretboard.

As for playing in key -so to speak- you really want to practice all kinds of scales and remember the finger-per-fret rule so as to include your pinky.

Schecter C-1 Hellraiser FR
ESP LTD MH-1000NT
Marshall AVT100
Boss ME-70

Quote by stratdud39
Thank you for your words of wisdom.
Last edited by s-o-u-l-f-l-y at Jul 27, 2011,
I've been playing for about three years and I didn't start to learn the notes on the fretboard until I started making an effort to learn them, so I don't think it just comes naturally. As I said before, I wasn't asking because I wasn't sure how to go about it. I just wanted to know some of the different methods that people have had success with.
The thing that really ingrained the fretboard into my mind was a regular dose of reading standard notation.

There were visual cues and things, but reading regularly helped me alot.
shred is gaudy music
I use intervals, and the other strings, for reference

Ex:
D|--2---5--
A|--7--10--
E|--0---3---
Octaves make easy reference points

D|-----0
A|-0---5
E|-5--10
The way you tune the guitar makes it easy to remember as well
scales i found helped me the most and my students make great progress this way too.

if you take say the G major scale, build it on the 3 note per string base.

you then have

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------5----7----8