Alright so long story short, I'm a guitarist mainly and I don't really know much about specific brands and models for basses. I do a lot of recording and songwriting and I need a high quality bass, so before I spend my money I want to get a few opinions.

It will be used almost exclusively for metal/rock
I probably only need a 4 string
budget is $1,500

cheers.
I'll be the first to ask, what amp are you playing through or planning to get? Consider it before the bass.

Edit: Also American P bass
As of now I'm recording through a line 6 Pod HD, so there's a lot of variety with the digital amp models. I should be able to find one that works well with pretty much anything.
This is such a broad topic. sigh.

It sounds like your more after a bass that will do what you need than a "High end". Not to sound like a jerk but to me high end is like alembic/Wal etc. mid-high is like spectors/warricks, mid level is Fender/USA Spectors etc.

but then the same as guitars depending on what neck profiles etc. you prefer. (So i dont tell you to buy a fender if you want a thin neck like an ibanez.

Although all that aside a good ibanez would do well for what it sounds like on the information given, with an active pickup etc. I don't own an ibanez so I don't know models off the top of my head but they do alot of things pretty damn well with a great tone also and the high end ones always seem to impress me in stores.
Last edited by tofuhead at Jul 29, 2011,
That's American dollars delirium, and yeah you're pretty much right tofuhead, I'm kind of just looking for the bass to be good enough quality to not sound awkward with other higher end instruments.

If it helps at all I've been playing an LTD AX-54 for the last couple of years and to me there's nothing discernibly wrong with the way the neck feels, the sound on it could just be better.
Well, if you're gonna drop $1500 on a bass, you should really try it out first. For that kinda scratch, you have a lot available to you.